How to comply & what to do

Bio-Defense Network is a national leader in public health preparedness, specializing in recruiting employer hosts for Closed Points of Dispensing, planning for other responses to other public health disasters. That same dedicated passion for disaster preparation, blended with our business continuity expertise positions the company to support healthcare providers comply with the CMS emergency preparedness rule to plan for their institutions.

Emergency Plan

Bio-Defense Network can work with you to create a new plan or review and improve your current one.

Policies & Procedures

Review your current policies & procedures or create new ones.

Communication Plan

Your communication plan needs to be sophisticated and cover internal and external communications.

Training & Exercises

A rigorous training program which has been implemented and extends beyond basic fire drills is required.

Recieve this guide to help you plan for the CMS Emergency Preparedness Rule

What Does CMS Mean For Me?

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services has produced a simple-to-follow guide to what each provider type is required to do to comply with the Emergency Preparedness Rule.

Download PDF to read full list

Join the Conversation

Join the group and follow along as we provide our CMS Emergency Preparedness LinkedIn group with current news and events.

Who Must Comply?

Provider and Supplier Types Covered by the CMS Emergency Preparedness Rule

There are 17 specific provider and supplier types affected by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Emergency Preparedness Rule. ASPR TRACIE developed definitions based on information gleaned from numerous sources to provide a general description of each type. Facilities are listed alphabetically and categorized based on whether they are inpatient or outpatient.

  • Hospitals
  • Religious Nonmedical Health Care Institutions (RNHCIs)
  • Ambulatory Surgical Centers (ASCs)
  • Hospices
  • Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities (PRTFs)
  • All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)
  • Transplant Centers
  • Long-Term Care (LTC) Facilities
  • Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID)
  • Home Health Agencies (HHAs)
  • Comprehensive Outpatient Rehabilitation Facilities (CORFs)
  • Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs)
  • Community Mental Health Centers (CMHCs)
  • Clinics, Rehabilitation Agencies, and Public Health Agencies as Providers of Outpatient Physical Therapy and Speech-Language Pathology Services
  • Organ Procurement Organizations (OPOs)
  • Rural Health Clinics (RHCs) and Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs)
  • End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) Facilities

Download Full Provider Types List